Whether you need a little extra medical relief or just want to kick back and relax with some friends, cannabis in California is now readily available. While medicinal marijuana has been up for grabs for the last couple of decades, California recreational marijuana laws have changed as of January, 2018. While this is an exciting progression for recreational smokers, the new laws are not just cut and dry; there are some stipulations everyone should be aware of.
Before you head out out to that dispensary in California, read on to understand what the latest California state law really means for you. Then call TOPS Cannabis for the fastest marijuana delivery service in Southern California.
Who can purchase recreational marijuana in California?
Any adult aged 21 or older can legally purchase recreational marijuana in California, whether they are a resident or not. As long as you’re of age, you can purchase it without needing a medical reason.
How much can I buy at a time?
Individuals are allowed up to an ounce (28.5 grams) of marijuana buds or 8 grams of cannabis concentrates at a time. Stores will only allow you to purchase this much in a single visit and it’s still not legal to buy from anyone other than a licensed marijuana dispensary. California recreational marijuana laws also allow individuals to grow up to six plants of marijuana at a time for personal use.
Wait… isn’t weed still illegal federally? Can I get federally charged?
This is where things gets a little tricky. Recreational marijuana in California is completely legal, but it is not legal federally. The government passed an act in 2013 that allows states to mandate recreational sales on the promise that federal authorities won’t get involved with recreational marijuana consumption in that state, so long as there are no criminals trafficking marijuana across state lines, to the black market, or to children.
It’s also important to note that even though recreational marijuana is legal in the state, you can still get penalized for not following the regulations. If you’re caught with more than an ounce, you may get a misdemeanor charge up to $500 and six months in jail. If you’re found with marijuana with the intent to sell, you face up to 2 years in jail with a misdemeanor charge.
Adults between the ages of 18 and 21 will owe a $100 fine if caught and children under 18 will be able to get counseling or complete community service instead of a fine.
Phew, I’m safe. So, where can I smoke marijuana?
Not in public, that’s for sure. Even though buying recreational marijuana is now legal in California, smoking it in public areas still isn’t. In fact, the state even has really strict tobacco smoking laws.
If you’re caught smoking weed in public, you can receive a $100 infraction and if you happen to be in a strict no-smoking zone, you’re fine can be up to $250. While public spaces like parks and sidewalks are off limits, privately-owned buildings like night clubs may permit customers to smoke inside. If you’re not sure, your best bet is to save it for home.
Call TOPS Today
The people of California deserve the highest quality marijuana and TOPS Cannabis is here to deliver it straight to your door. Whether you already know what you want or need help finding a product to fit your needs, give us a call at (844) 420-TOPS or complete our online contact form.